Three Day Raw Food Cleanse

Standard

There are many people that eat a 100% raw food diet all the time. So I should be able to survive a “Three Day Raw Food Cleanse”. Right? Right. But when I started it – two and a half days ago, I wasn’t sure I could. I am the first to admit that I don’t have a lot of self-discipline. I wasn’t sure I wouldn’t cave in and reach for a Ryvita or be able to resist putting some feta in my salad – so I didn’t post about it until I saw how it went. I know. Cowardly. Didn’t want to fail in public!

I am happy to report that at Day 3, I feel great, I haven’t been hungry AT ALL and I am almost finished it.

Why do a raw food cleanse? The primary reasons people do them is because they eat a lot of rubbish most of the time and start feeling ill and decide it is time for a clean out – a detox, a cleanse. I didn’t do it for the cleanse factor or for a detox. I already eat really well (just too much) and I don’t think there is much to detox in me. (Yeah I know, I am probably wrong.) But I wanted to do it as an experiment in self-discipline and also as a kick start to weight loss.

Since I hit my 40’s, my weight has slowly crept up. Before Christmas I reached a number on the scales that sunk me into serious despair. We had joined a really good gym in December and while I had lost three pounds in a month, I thought with the effort I was putting in it should have been more.

I followed the 3-day cleanse in Penni Shelton’s “Raw Food Cleanse” book. It’s a great book with a lot of excellent recipes. If you have any questions, ask away! Tomorrow I will post my weight loss. In the meantime, here is some of what I ate and drank:

Leave a Reply

